RV/MH Hall of Fame News

Gene E. Stout

Gene is a 34-year industry veteran. He joined the RVI board in 1970 and became its chairman in 1972 where he was a member of the group that combined the RVI and the TCA to form RVIA. He served on the RVIA board for 25 years including 2 terms as Chairman 1985 and 86. His service to the industry's national association include terms as chairman of the RVIA automotive liaison committee from 1977 to 80, the standards committee from 1982 to 83, the public and legislative affairs committee in 1987 and 88, the membership committee from 1994 to 2001, and the nominating committee in 1995. He was awarded the prestigious "Distinguished Service to the RV Industry" award in 1983 and the "Distinguished Achievement in RV Standards" award in 1984. He was a leader of the effort to restructure the board of the Indiana IMHA to give equal balance to the RV and manufactured housing industries. He served on the RV/MH Heritage Foundation Board of Directors from 1995 to 2000, including two terms as Chairman in 1997 and 1998.

Gordon D. Stock

Mr. Stock’s career in the manufactured housing industry has spanned over 50 years. He has founded or co-founded 10 prominent industry companies representing the manufacturing, supplier, and retail portions of the industry and providing employment to thousands of industry workers. In the 1950s, he developed a company to produce what may have been the first commercially marketed double-wide homes. He is responsible for innovations at use in every aspect of the housing industry. His advice and support has been a major part of the encouragement for many entrepreneurs and industry leaders over the years. He is recognized as a dynamic force in the growth and development of the manufactured housing industry since the 1950s.

Duane Spader

A founding member of the national Recreational Vehicle Dealers Association, Duane served as President in 1974 and 75. As RVDA’s top volunteer during a critical time in industry history, he was instrumental in laying the groundwork for what has grown into a unified and financially sound organization that serves the nation’s RV retailers. He is recognized as having conceived and developed the RVDA 20 Group programs which allow dealers to network and share best practices. He has been an RV dealer for over 40 years and a campground operator for over 30 years. In these capacities, he has devised and distributed benchmarking and performance measurement concepts that have revolutionized the way RV dealers do business. He has been a friend, mentor and coach to hundreds of RV dealers from coast to coast.

Alvan L. Schrader

A 30-year member of the Minnesota Manufactured Housing Association board of directors, he served as President from 1978 to 1980. He served on the National Manufactured Housing Federation from 1980 to 1986 and served as Chairman in 1983 and 84. Al served on the HUD Advisory Council from 1983 to 1985 and helped to write the HUD standard for formaldehyde to eliminate the serious health hazard of the 1980s. He was the first member elected to Minnesota MH Hall of Fame 1979. Today, he provides over 2300 rental home sites in eleven communities and has helped to implement favorable zoning standards for manufactured housing in cities and states through out the mid-west.

Donald R. Mossey

Don was an early manufacturer and promoter of manufactured housing. He was a long time MHMA and MHI member. He has founded and built five successful industry companies and developed numerous components and design features still in use for RV and housing units. He has been a lifelong spokesman for housing industry causes. His companies, including Homette, Ventline, Leland Engineering, and Imperial Stamping have spanned a broad range of manufactured home component parts and homes. In addition to his efforts for the industry, Don has served as Chairman of the Board of Hillsdale College in Michigan for 28 years.

Charles N. Miller

A 28-year active RVIA member, he is recognized as the founder of the annual RV Leadership Prayer Breakfast, which he chaired from 1977 until 1990. Charles served on the MDNA service schools steering committee and as a faculty member of the schools; and on the RVDA Consumer Care Commission. As his business interests became international, he relocated his family to Australia where he introduced the weight distributing hitch and electric trailer brakes as well as other towing safety features to the Australian market. He played a major role in opening the South Pacific market area to American RV companies. Charles is the son of Milo Miller, a member of the Hall of Fame class of 1975.

C.T. McCreary

Beginning his production career in 1945, he was one of the earliest RV manufacturers to open production facilities in various parts of the country. His company, building Aljo brand trailers, grew to be recognized as the second largest RV manufacturer in the nation in 1957. A long time active Trailer Coach Association member and show organizer, C.T. was one of the founders of the giant Los Angeles RV show. He is responsible for many innovations to industry products including installation of the first RV central vacuum system. (His midwest division, Moderistic Industries of Iowa, became Winnebago Industries after a change of ownership.)

Norman L. McAdoo

Along with his partners – who are both now deceased, he has developed and built numerous housing communities, not only for his own management company, but also for many other operators throughout the state of California. He was a founding member of the California Manufactured Housing Institute Board of Directors and served the association with terms as President in 1967-68 and 1989-90. He is a 46-year board member of the Western Manufactured Home parkowners Association, a Wallace Carr award winner and the WMA Man of the Century Award recipient. He has worked tirelessly to improve the California housing industry through legislation, code analysis, and political action.

Martin W. Lown

A 36-year veteran RV dealer, he designed and established a well-equipped campground, that hosts several RV club rallies each year, immediately adjacent to his retail sales lot. He was the first chairman of the Holiday Rambler Dealer Advisory Board, where he has actively shared his expertise and experiences with other dealers, and has held the Newmar Top Five Dealer designation for 15 consecutive years. He is the designer of several RV floor plan modifications that are used by numerous manufacturers and he was recognized as TL Publications Dealer of the Year in 1990.

Dennis Hill

A 35-year industry veteran, he is recognized as a long time promoter of manufactured housing, having served on the staff of SEMHI and MHI before he began his own company where, for over 25 years he has served as the director of the Louisville, Kentucky; Kansas City, Missouri; Charlotte, North Carolina; and Nashville/Tunica, Mississippi, manufactured housing shows. Over the years, his shows have grown dynamically until today the Louisville show is recognized as the largest indoor manufactured housing show in the U.S. and the Tunica show is the largest of the outdoor shows. He has brought hundreds of manufacturers together with thousands of retail centers for the betterment of the housing industry and has returned over 3.5 million dollars to the state associations that sponsor the shows.
Next Page »